top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmmi Laine

First time in Marrakech

Updated: Feb 24, 2018

Last time I visited Morocco in the early 90's, in Agadir. Not that I remember anything about it, but we were forced to fly back to Finland due of bombings. This time my Morocco experience was slightly different - this post is about my first impressions of Marrakech.




How did we end up with Marrakech, where did we stay and what did it cost?


I usually never use travel booking agencies for our trips and as we travel every week for business, we don't do much holidays. Before x-mas, I end up to a webpage called 'Voyage Prive' and just for fun, started scrolling, what do they offer. There isn't too many places in this world where we have not been yet. So an offer to Marrakech for 5 days with flights and accommodation included, all together approx. £300 from two, rise my interest. The accommodation 'Riad Luxe 56' seemed legit and nice, so I thought, why not to purchase this trip as a part of the x-mas present for my partner?


First impressions and expectations


Let's say, we did not have any expectations of this trip, just thought that it's nice to work from some new environment for a couple of days. The first impression is the most important, they say... Straight after landing, I was stunned by the brand new airport of Marrakech (built in 2017).


By knowing that according to statistics, there are 100% Sunni Muslims in Morocco, I was surprised of that not every local women wore a scarf, or hair was partly shown from beneath the scarf.




Accommodation


As the accommodation in Riad Luxe 56 was part of the extremely cheap package deal, I did not have much expectations about it. Riad Luxe 56 is a nice, cozy and clean riad with a reasonable price and only 3 rooms. The breakfast included is nice and the dinner delicious.

Anyhow, I would not pick this Riad because of the amnetities; the person who is running the place makes this a 5-star experience. He with his team has ensured that our stay has been a pleasant.

+ beds are comfy + Wi-fi working ok, slowly sometimes but it has been our luck to not watch Netflix on a holiday + quiet place, very dark rooms in a night time, we have easily slept for 10hrs a night which we needed







The next posts will be about food, price level, what to avoid, what to do, culture in Marrakech as a lazy traveler as we are.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page