top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmmi Laine

Looking back to this year: 4 months on a road trip

I have always traveled a lot. At least 4 times a month. Nowadays approximately 4 times a week. In my previous life I wasn't really much a detail oriented planner what comes to my travels. I was spontaneous and extremely impulsive. Is it an age, experience, change of a lifestyle or all of those, my (traveler) character has changed - a lot. I've become something that I never wanted to; a detail oriented planner, who creates lists about things. Yes. That's me in these days. Hello.





Getting back to the topic: a road trip. I love road trips! We have driven a lot around the UK and Finland, and then longer routes from UK to Courchevel, France for skiing and of course our famous Helsinki-London-Helsinki as fast as you can a several times... I actually made my moving to London in the similar way... just packed my bags to a car and drove all the way.


In our trips we use an #AirBnb a lot. Back in Helsinki where I come from, I used to AirBnb host. From those days is still left the good memories + awesome people that I met. It's also a great way to make some extra money or even proper incomes. I would recommend AirBnb hosting for everyone. It saved me from my finance crisis and plus I got to know awesome people. WIN-WIN-WIN.


In our trips we use an #AirBnb a lot. Back in Helsinki where I come from, I used to AirBnb host.

I never shared anything detailed from my travels before, so decided to begin with it in last summer. The plan was following: "We'll be driving from our front door in London all the way to Cluj Romania. Our route will be following: London-Dover-Dunkirk-Hasselt-Stuttgart-Salzburg-Novi Vinodolski-Plitivice Lakes-Makarska-Dubrovnik-Budva-Belgrade-Cluj. So basically our trip includes almost whole coast line of Croatia. On the program there is going to be Catamaran and boat adventures, hiking, swimming, eating and finding something more extreme than hiking. This trip has been planned by me and we have my partner's 12-year-old traveling with us, so all places are family friendly and also nice but with a budget because this trip goes all from my wallet :D"


Well you can always plan on things but rarely our life goes as originally planned... So in the end of the day we end up living in Brussels for a while before heading back to the UK.


I never share anything detailed from my travels, so decided to begin with it last summer.

My partner hasn't been thrilled about an idea of using AirBnb on our trips - so I've booked hotel for our first 3 nights and soon he will be noticing that the rest of our accommodations are AirBnb. I had booked all of our hotel nights from hotels.com and the other nights from AirBnb. I also rated those all on Trip Advisor, AirBnb and Hotels.com

Our road trip happened from July until the beginning of October and I'm going to write about it in my blog now when I have had some time to settle down back in London.


If interested in using AirBnb and you're new on a service, with my affiliate code you'll get some tens of pounds/euros off from your first stay. There you go!

27 views0 comments
bottom of page